Almost there.

I wanted to write a quick entry so I don’t forget this C.R.A.Z.Y. time.  Crazy is a complete understatement. We are traveling as a team – so that adds up to 11 kids and 6 adults. Almost half of those kids are mine – that really freaks me out, so I try not to think about it. 11 Kids under the age of 9. We cause a scene. 

We are in Lima now – we fly out tomorrow for Arequipa.

We fly out tomorrow. For Arequipa. Cannot believe it.

Everything still seems very surreal to me. On one hand, the last year flew by so fast and now seems very blurry, but on the other hand I can’t believe we’re finally getting to our long term destination  – it has seemed like forever that we have been talking, planning and preparing, praying and tomorrow we will land in Arequipa.

Surreal.

These last two weeks, we have been living in small, temporary spaces. It has been really difficult for us to be patient with the kids – who seem to continuously bounce off the walls. I tried to keep homeschooling, but it was very hit and miss. I made an announcement today that it is the last homeschool day until after Christmas. I don’t know if the kids are more relieved or me.

My parents will arrive in Arequipa on Saturday to spend Christmas with us. We are beyond thrilled and can’t wait to see them, in person anyway. We see them on the computer screen almost every day.

When we arrived in Lima last week, Jak saw a Christmas tree and immediately asked if we could decorate our house for Christmas. Two problems – first, we don’t have a house. And second – all of our Christmas decorations are on the crate that won’t arrive until February. We will have to figure out how to make our first Christmas in Arequipa memorable without all of the stuff.

Another funny thing happened – Jak saw Santa Clause at the mall in Lima and said, “Hey, Mom, Look! It’s that Christmas man!” I have no idea how that one happened. I seem to forget to explain things to the poor middle child. He doesn’t even know who the “Christmas man” is. Hopefully he’ll always know that the real Christmas man is Jesus.

I hope I can blog about some fun for our first Christmas in Arequipa! Really excited about it!

Please pray for us as we board another plane with 17 people. Also pray for everyone’s health. Carter came down with the croup – so we’ve quarantined him from the team for the last day or so, hoping that we don’t start passing around an ugly virus!

Feliz Navidad Errbody!

Catch ya on the flip side!