O Come, O Come!

I know it’s just barely officially Fall, but can you feel it in the air?

The expectation?

I love Christmas (and Easter and birthday) traditions. That’s why I start thinking about what I will do to celebrate God Incarnate in September. If you must know, I was thinking about what I would do this Christmas, last Christmas. I won’t even get started on our birthday celebrations…

Now I will tell you what you must do.

First, you must order the book. It’s $10. You can swing it.

It’s called The Advent Jesse Tree, by Dean Lambert Smith. An older copy of the book says, Dean Meador Lambert. If you are one of my Hattiesburg friends, look closely at the author.

You will need to do a little preparation.

The book has a written devotional for the days leading up to Christmas, starting on December 1st. Each day, you will read the devotional and hang the ornament (I’ll get to that) on the tree and fill your child’s heart (and your own) with wonder and expectation. This is not only for people with children in the home. Each day has a separate adult devotional as well.

You will need a different ornament for each day. 25 total. Since I know you don’t have all the time in the world to make 25 different ornaments, you will need to get a little group together. No really, you can do it. If I can, so can you. I have four children and I have to clip all of their toenails and I could be pregnant any minute now. So, no excuses.

Get a little group together, even a group of 5 or 10 can easily pull it off. I just know you have 10 friends who want to experience Christmas this year in a different and better way than The Elf on the Shelf! No offense. Sort of.

Once you have your group, you will assign each person an ornament (or two, depending). They will make enough of their assigned ornament to pass around to each member of your group. So, if you have a group of 12, you will need to make 12 (don’t forget to make one for yourself!) of your assigned ornament. However, in this situation with a group of 12, each person would have to make 12 of two different ornaments, because you must have 25 different ornaments total, when you are finished, to take home. And then, there is one pesky ornament that a saintly woman will need to do as well as her assigned two ornaments. In the end, each person will go home with 25 different ornaments. The book will tell you what your ornament should look like. Make sense?

But I’m just not creative like that!

Oh, but you don’t have to be! It’s called “Google”. It’s your Christmas present from me. And the book tells you everything you need to know.

And don’t try to tell me that you have a Martha Stewart – themed Christmas tree and that you just can’t bare to have ornaments that don’t match hanging on your matchy-matchy tree. I don’t judge, I have one of those too.

Get the children their own tree. Think outside the box. You can make it work.

Now, order the book and get your group together. If you go to Madison Heights, you’re in luck! Join our group!

If you’re still hesitant, let me close the deal.

The Son of God became a man.

The Son of God became a man.

The Son of God became a man.

I think we should celebrate!

And wait…

…expectantly.

O holy Child of Bethlehem,
descend to us, we pray;
cast out our sin, and enter in,
be born in us today.
We hear the Christmas angels
the great glad tidings tell;
o come to us, abide with us,
our Lord Emmanuel!

If you have any holiday traditions that you love, please share!

9 thoughts on “O Come, O Come!

  1. I love Christmas, too! I have to love it more since I am missing Thanksgiving this year. Pesky Honeymoon…..

    Remember when, last year, I made beautiful ornaments with your precious children? (well not Jak…we made sure to do them while Jak napped to avoid obvious impending glitter disaster all over Lovie’s house…). They ended up on the Kids Tree. Not the Martha Stewart Tree….. I should have been offended… Because I think they were very Martha-Stewart-Worthy… Glue, Glitter, Pipe Cleaners and all!!!

    I love Christmas, too!!!!!! GUMBO!!! ANGEL BISCUITS!!! I will have two weeks off this year so I can help you with the biscuits, and do crafts!!! I love Christmas…have I said that yet?

  2. Hi Emily,
    Susan Boyett here. Your excitement about the Jesse tree excties me about our Christmas here in the states this year & it brings back fond memories. We did the Jesse tree project many years ago when our adult children were young. Even in Uganda, 2 years ago we did it with a young Ugandan man who lives with us who was 16 at the time. To let you know how uncrafty I am, plus being limited with the supplies I can find in Uganda,) I just photocopyed the picture from the book, (maybe from the adult devotinal – I cant remember), cut it out and Justus glued it to a green or red background cut out of construction paper, then colored the picture with crayons. then he punched a hole in the top & used an ornament hook to hang it. He’s from deep in the village & was not too proud & was overjoyed to color these at the age of 16. He went to visit his mother & siblings in his village at Christmas time so he took the ornaments & hung them on a little tree that he chopped down & shared about them with his family. One year later, Mike & I drove with him to his village to meet & spend the day with his family & they had a little tree up with the ornaments!
    May your group have a very happy time celebrating our Lord in this way!

  3. i have such great memories of going through the jesse tree every christmas growing up! it was always so exciting to open the presents every night, even though they were the same ornaments every year! i love traditions!!

  4. God has made you hardcore awesome, and I love it! Thanks for being the you He’s made you to be! I’ve only read a couple of your posts, but I love them, so I signed up. I’m a friend of a friend of a friend, and I’m so glad I was directed to your blog. Thanks for rocking the life God gave you. And sharing it with those of us who can be encouraged/inspired by it:)

  5. Pingback: Jesse Tree Explained « Life with the Wallace's

  6. Pingback: December Photo Project (Day 1) | Life with the Bonhams…

Leave a Reply

