Booya!

I like to say that.

I like to type it. Booya! Booya! Booya!

This, my friends, is where sleep deprivation will get you. I have officially crossed over. I am no longer sane. I wasn’t completely sane to begin with.

A friend once described pregnancy as swimming through molasses with only one leg. I agree. The weeks immediately following pregnancy are equally like the molasses swimming. I feel the molasses. I feel the one-leg-ed-ness. I am one with the molasses. And I only have one leg. And I’m swimming. Swimming. Swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. That’s a movie quote. I’ll give you one guess.

So, lots of time on my hands in the middle of the night these days. I’ve been thinking. There’s just no way I could possibly have FOUR colicky babies. I’ve had three. Haven’t I paid my dues? Nope. I have my fourth fussy, demanding baby. So, in the middle of the night I’m analyzing this. How could it be? What are the odds? When I realize,  I am the common denominator. Could it be me? Or my genes? Or something I’m doing? But what?

Any advice? Any words of wisdom? A friend of mine who has eight children told me to get him on a schedule. I think that’s the problem. I’ve demand fed them all. No schedule, really. So, we’re on a schedule as of now.

Sleep deprivation is bad. But sleep deprivation plus fussy baby is a product of the fall. Seriously! A. Product. Of. The. Fall.

This is the most random post ever. This post is a product of the fall. I’m going to publish it anyway. Just keepin’ it real fo ya!

And just a little eye candy to make sure you don’t doubt for a second that I have completely lost it…

Our ant farm. Fitting, don’t you think?

Booya!

5 thoughts on “Booya!

  1. Yeah, a schedule could help. I know this is a mean thing to say, but Micah has been sleeping 8 hours a night since he was 2 months old. It’s like winning the lottery! I had 3 non-colicky babies, so if its genetic, it must be from the other side of the family ;^)

    Hang in there Em, and if you need to send some nieces or nephews to California to get a break, you know how much we love them!

  2. I am total agreement. The Fall = Colic, Colic = the Fall. I had colicky babies. Found out with my first one that it was all the ice cream I was eating. She is still lactose sensitive. The third one? Peregaric (sp?). Too bad you can’t get it any more. Maybe on the black market?? Probably in San Jose. Have any smuggling friends? It makes a world of difference. Peragaric, that is.

Leave a Reply

