Galatians 6:9

>It’s been a rough couple of weeks.

It’s really been a rough winter as far as sickness goes. we have had multiple colds. The kids have gotten the stomach virus twice and all of this on top of third trimester fatigue.

I wish I was one of those women who loved being pregnant. I LOVE being pregnant. What I don’t like is feeling pregnant. And boy, do I. The whole pregnancy is sort of an out of body experience for me. I’m just not myself at all. I feel tired, confused, short tempered, emotional. I’ll even forget what I’m saying in the middle of a ….

Where was I? So, the last couple of weeks… First, my oldest came down with the stomach bug. I always try to quarantine my kids when they get sick, then I kick myself. Why do I kick myself? Because they all catch it anyway and instead of them all being sick at once and getting it over with, I end up cleaning up puke for 6 days. Or we pass around a cold for 6 weeks. The power of exponentials at work.

Anyhoo. We shared the stomach bug for six days. Of course, during those six days I have the worst sinus infection EVER. I’ve only ever had one sinus infection in my life. This one was brutal. Lethal. Hellish. I just about died. Then I cleaned up more puke. Then I died again.

I have been convicted over the past year by Galatians 6:9, “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” I feel like this is my life verse. It’s probably my biggest struggle. I love being a mom. I love homeschooling. I love staying home with my children and not being able to do anything else. But I grow weary in doing good. I really do. I did this week.

We had been suffering from the relentless vomit for 5 days when the third child came down with it. I wrapped her in a towel and gave her a big tupperware bowl and sat her in front of the TV. (That’s what good mom’s do when their baby is sick) I told her, I begged her, please throw up in this bowl. Nope. She threw up EVERYWHERE except there. She even had throw up all over the back of her pajamas. I don’t know how you can be wrapped in a towel with a bowl in your lap and throw up all over the back of yourself, but she’s a talented one. Flexible.

So, I, the gracious and patient mother that I am, scooped her up and put her in a warm bath. Sort of. I did all that, but after I fussed at her for not throwing up in the bowl. She’s 3! And she was sick!! And I was a bad mom. It was an ugly moment. I had grown weary in doing good.

Later, while Ava was in the tub, she said, “Remember when you were rude to me?” I did remember. And so I apologized. I’m still sorry. I know I will have more moments like that. I’m human. I’m sinful. But I pray that they will become fewer and fewer and that I won’t give up. And one day I will reap a harvest.

That’s the beauty of Christ in us. That’s the power of Christ in us. By the power of the Holy Spirit in us we can make a choice to obey Him.

It usually get worse for me in the last few weeks of pregnancy. I actually go crazy. Really. Hormones, I guess. I pray that I cling to Him and that I don’t grow weary. This is actually how I should live all the time, not just when I’m crazy from severe pregnancy hormones. I should cling to Him for my next breath because I need Him every moment. Even when I think I don’t.

“Do not grow weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we don’t give up.” Galatians 6:9

2 thoughts on “Galatians 6:9

  1. I love your honesty. I do the same thing. And then feel bad afterwards. You’re very inspiring to write about things we do in the flesh when we’re tired of doing good. We are get that way. Praying for you, Em!

  2. I have been struggling with this lately… well, really ever since I became a mom! 🙂 Thank you for sharing Galatians 6:9… I am memorizing it now to keep in my heart for those “mommy moments.” I loved, loved, loved reading your blog! Thanks for sharing. Miss y’all – Martha

Leave a Reply

